Simon Cooper and Margaret Heydon

Simon Cooper senior was born in 1649 in Watlington, Oxfordshire, England to parents Thomas Cooper (1623-1700) and Joane West (1626-1695).

All Saints Shirburn Oxfordshire

Thomas and Joane had married on 12 June 1648 at nearby Shirburn, Oxfordshire, about a mile away from Watlington. Simon was one of nine children born to the couple.

Watlington is a market town and civil parish about 7 miles (11 km) south of Thame in Oxfordshire, near the county’s eastern edge and less than 2 miles (3 km) from its border with Buckinghamshire.

It claims to be reputedly the smallest town in England with a dominating 17th century town hall and many historic buildings.

Five episodes of the TV series Midsomer Murders have been filmed partly in Watlington, with the library featuring as Midsomer Library. At least one episode of the TV series Inspector Morse was filmed partly in Watlington.

Simon Cooper married Margaret Heydon / Haiden on 28 July 1672 at Watlington by banns.

Simon and Margaret had seven children –

  1. Robert b 1670 d 1691 Watlington
  2. Jane b 1674 Watlington
  3. John b 1677 d 1680 Watlington
  4. Simon b 1679 Watlington d 1751 Chalford, marr Mary Brooks. 7 children.
  5. Margaret b 1682 & d 1721 Watlington, marr Edward Clack. 3 children.
  6. Hannah b 1684 Watlington
  7. John b 1686 Watlington

St Leonards Watlington gated entrance


Margaret Cooper died in 1695 at Watlington.

Her husband Simon Cooper died in December 1714 and was buried in Watlington on 5 December 1714.